• Clinic >
  • Thermal water

Thermal water

General information concerning the thermal springs at Loèche-les-Bains

The thermal springs at Loèche-les-Bains have been used without interruption from Roman times to the present day. The water of Loèche-les-Bains takes more than 40 years to course through underground passages and around 65 thermal springs in all are mentioned in the land register. They mark the emergence of warm or hot percolated water at temperatures of up to 51°C. The total capacity at Loèche-les-Bains has been conservatively estimated at approximately 3,000 litres/minute of pure thermal water.

 

Composition of the thermal water

All thermal water at Loèche-les-Bains comes from the same thermal aquifer. The water is rich in calcium sulphate and contains slightly above-average levels of sodium, strontium and iron, and a significant quantity of fluorine. It has a high content of dilute solids (1,800-2,000 mg/litre). These unique properties give the water used in swimming pools at the Leukerbad Clinic its therapeutic qualities.

The mineral springs at Loèche-les-Bains contain mainly calcium sulphate, i.e. gypsum. Hot water containing gypsum soothes rheumatological and neurological disorders and aids recovery after accidents.

 

Effects of heat

The action of heat relaxes the muscles, improves the elasticity of connective tissue and liquefies synovial fluid – which has a positive effect on painful arthritic joints.

 

Chemical and mechanical effects

  • As the skin absorbs and repels water, an exchange of ions is created.
  • Thanks to the water’s buoyancy, the effective weight of an immersed body is less than 10% of its normal level. Movements are therefore easier to make in water and exert less stress on joints. In addition, in water, support muscles relax automatically in a reflex action.
  • Viscosity and resistance to friction create an obstacle to the body’s movements. As a result, during training therapies in water (swimming with flippers, WetVest, Aquajogging), muscles are strengthened and movements harmonised.

 

Counter-indication:

  • During the onset of rheumatological crises, in the presence of acute lumbar or back pain
  • In cases of severe high blood pressure or any type of decompensated heart disease
  • Counter-indication is absolute for immunodeficient patients after corticotherapy or treatment with immunosuppressives, as well as kidney transplant and dialysis patients

 

Analysis results of the “Rossquelle” spring

• DIE KLINIK >
  • Thermalwasser

Thermalwasser

Allgemeine Informationen zu den Thermalquellen von Leukerbad

Die Thermalquellen von Leukerbad werden seit der Römerzeit bis heute ohne Unterbrechung genutzt. Das Thermalwasser von Leukerbad legt eine über 40 Jahre dauernde unterirdische Reise zurück und insgesamt sind circa 65 Thermalquellen in einem Kadaster erfasst. Es handelt sich dabei um lauwarme oder warme Sickerwasseraustritte, die bis zu 51 °C warm sein können. Die gesamte Thermalwasserschüttung in Leukerbad wird vorsichtig auf ca. 3'000 l/Min. ungemischtes Thermalwasser geschätzt.

 

Zusammensetzung des Thermalwassers

Sämtliches Thermalwasser von Leukerbad entstammt einem gemeinsamen Thermalaquifer. Es handelt sich um ein Calcium-Sulfat-Wasser mit leicht erhöhtem Gehalt an Natrium, Strontium, Eisen und einem bemerkenswerten Fluoridgehalt. Es weist einen hohen Gehalt an gelösten festen Stoffen (1800-2000 mg/l) auf. Diese einmaligen Elemente verleihen dem Wasser, das in den Becken der Leukerbad Clinic verwendet wird, seine therapeutischen Eigenschaften.

Die Mineralquellen in Leukerbad enthalten vorwiegend Calciumsulfatmineralien, d. h. Gips. Warme Gipswässer lindern rheumatologische und neurologische Leiden und helfen nach Unfallfolgen.

 

Wärmewirkungen

Durch die Wärmewirkungen werden die Muskeln entspannt, die Dehnbarkeit des Bindegewebes verbessert und die Gelenkschmiere verflüssigt – letzteres hat eine positive Wirkung auf arthrotische Gelenke.

 

Chemische und mechanische Wirkungen des Thermalwassers

  • Mit der Wasseraufnahme und -abgabe durch die Haut werden auch Ionen ausgetauscht.
  • Durch den Wasserauftrieb wiegt der Körper im Wasser weniger als 10 % des eigentlichen Gewichtes. Dadurch sind Bewegungen im Wasser leichter und gelenkschonender. Zusätzlich wird die Stütz- und Haltemuskulatur im Wasser reflektorisch entspannt.
  • Die Viskosität, der Reibungswiderstand, wirkt den Bewegungen des menschlichen Körpers entgegen. Die Muskulatur wird dadurch bei Trainingstherapien im Wasser (Flossenschwimmen, WetVest-Aquajogging) gestärkt und der Bewegungsablauf wird harmonisiert.

 

Kontraindikation:

  • Bei Rheumaschüben, starken Rückenschmerzen oder starken Schmerzen im Lendenbereich
  • Bei starkem Bluthochdruck oder einer beliebigen Herzkrankheit im dekompensierten Stadium
  • Absolute Kontraindikation bei immunkompromittierten Patienten nach einer Behandlung mit Corticosteroiden sowie nach Nierentransplantationen und bei Dialyse-Patienten

 

Analyseergebnisse der Quelle «Rossquelle»