• Clinic >
  • Background

Background

While the Loèche-Les-Bains region has been renowned since Roman times for the unique character of its environment, the beauty of its landscapes and the therapeutic virtues of its thermal water, it was not until the middle of the 20th century that the history of Loèche-Les-Bains became closely bound up with medicine.

To exploit the potential of this rich natural bounty, a Club was formed in 1953 in Loèche-les-Bains to treat rheumatism sufferers in the canton of Valais. In June 1961, the Rheumatology and Rehabilitation Clinic opened its doors and was immediately accredited by the Swiss health authorities.

 

In 1962 a second clinic was set up, specialising in neurology, to treat patients suffering from poliomyelitis. The two clinics merged in 1999 to create the Loèche-les-Bains Rehabilitation Centre. Following the eradication of polio in our part of the world and because modern acute neurology was unable to thrive in this outlying location, the centre henceforth focused all its expertise on rehabilitation of the locomotor system, a process facilitated by the local thermal waters.

 

From 1987 to 2012, Dr Hans Spring, chief physician of the Swiss national skiing team, directed the medical team at the Loèche-les-Bains Rehabilitation Centre. Being well equipped to cater for training and rehabilitation, the centre also became the Swiss Olympic medical base. Thanks to Dr Hans Spring, the centre gained respectability and an international reputation.

Today the Loèche-Les-Bains rehabilitation centre maintains the same level of skill and expertise but has modernised over the years. The entire multidisciplinary team works daily with three objectives in mind: to improve the health, mobility and quality of life of patients. It is to this end that programmes were developed in the fields of Preventive Medicine & Quality Aging to supplement existing areas of expertise.

 

Since 2012 the centre, renamed “The Leukerbad Clinic”, has been the focus of major renovation work, making it possible to offer patients not only the best treatments in preventive medicine and musculoskeletal rehabilitation, but also superior quality hotel services.

• DIE KLINIK >
  • Geschichte

Geschichte

Seit der Römerzeit ist die Region Leukerbad für ihre einzigartige Natur, die Schönheit ihrer Landschaften und die therapeutischen Eigenschaften ihres Thermalwassers bekannt. Die enge Verbindung von Leukerbad mit der Medizin begann jedoch erst in der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Angesichts des grossen Potenzials der umliegenden Natur wurde 1953 in Leukerbad ein Verein zur therapeutischen Behandlung von Rheumapatienten aus dem Wallis gegründet. Im Juni 1961 wurde die Klinik für Rheumatologie und Rehabilitation eröffnet und unmittelbar von den Schweizer Gesundheitsbehörden anerkannt.

 

1962 wurde eine zweite, auf Neurologie spezialisierte Klink gegründet, in der Patienten mit Kinderlähmung behandelt wurden. 1999 schlossen sich die beiden Kliniken zum Rehabilitationszentrum Leukerbad zusammen. Nach der Ausrottung der Kinderlähmung in unseren Breitengraden und da der recht abgelegene Standort für ein hochmodernes Neurologiezentrum eher ungeeignet war, konzentrierte sich das Zentrum fortan ausschliesslich auf die Rehabilitation des Bewegungsapparates, unterstützt durch die lokalen Thermalquellen.

 

Von 1987 bis 2012 wurde das medizinische Team des Rehabilitationszentrums Leukerbad von dem Doktor der Medizin Hans Spring geleitet, dem Chefarzt des Ärztestabs der Schweizer Ski-Nationalmannschaft. Das Zentrum bot optimale Voraussetzungen für Training und Rehabilitation und wurde ausserdem zur medizinischen Basis von Swiss Olympic. Dr. Hans Spring ist es zu verdanken, dass die Klinik zunehmend an Ansehen und internationaler Berühmtheit gewann.

Das Rehabilitationszentrum Leukerbad zeichnet sich auch heute noch durch dasselbe hochstehende Kompetenzniveau und dasselbe fachliche Wissen aus und hat sich im Laufe der Jahre modernisiert. Der täglichen Arbeit des interdisziplinären Teams liegen drei Ziele zugrunde: die Verbesserung der Gesundheit, der Mobilität und der Lebensqualität der Patienten. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurden Programme in den Bereichen «Präventive Medizin & Quality Aging» entwickelt, welche die historischen Kompetenzzentren ergänzen.

 

2012 wurde das Zentrum in «Leukerbad Clinic» umbenannt und es wurden aufwändige Renovierungsprojekte umgesetzt, die es heute ermöglichen, den Patienten neben den besten Behandlungen im Bereich der präventiven Medizin und der muskuloskelettalen Rehabilitation auch exklusive Hotellerie-Dienstleistungen anzubieten.